Schools and Universities: Education policy deformations

Vladimir Dounaev

Summary

A fundamental defect of state education policy–the increasing social inequality in terms of access to quality education and, consequently, poor career perspectives – clearly manifested itself in 2019. The leadership of the ‘social welfare state’, including the Ministry of Education, chose to ignore this challenge.

The Ministry of Education defiantly excludes the social dimension from its strategies. At the same time, abandoning the inclusion policy, the ministry does not make decisive efforts to ensure high quality of secondary and tertiary education. Instead, it manipulates with the quality control tools, engages in political illusionism and pushes other stakeholders out of formal education.

In 2019, the Ministry of Education neutralized the attempts of the IT sector to steamroll vocational education reform and implemented a conservative strategy to minimize obligations to foreign donors.

Trends:
PISA shock that went unnoticed

In 2018, for the first time, Belarus took part in the international Program for International Student Assessment (PISA) conducted by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. According to PISA, the national secondary education system can be assessed based on the tested ability of 15-year-olds to apply the acquired knowledge.

Participation in PISA was part of the World Bank’s Secondary Education Modernization Project in Belarus. Tests were taken by 5,803 tenth graders of 236 educational institutions (176 schools, 27 gymnasiums, 6 lyceums, 13 colleges and 14 vocational schools). Contrary to expectation, the results of PISA testing published in December 20191 were not that shocking, and Education Ministry functionaries said they were quite satisfied with them. Belarus was rated 36th out of 79 countries that participated in PISA-2018, which can be regarded as a satisfactory result, but only at first glance.

The picture of this country’s average does not show the huge gap between education provided by elite and rural schools: a 106-point difference in reading literacy, 112 points in mathematical literacy and 113 in scientific literacy. Considering that 40 points is equivalent to 1 year of study, this gap means that rural schoolchildren are almost 3 years behind lyceum students.

A no less striking difference of 102 points can be seen between the results shown by schoolchildren from wealthy families and students from families with low socio-economic status. If there was a question about tutors on the questionnaire, perhaps, the success of the children from wealthy families could be attributed to the extra tuition, rather than the effectiveness of education at lyceums or gymnasiums.

Belarus is not the only country with striking inequality in terms of access to quality education. In most cases, this is a reason for alarm and significant education policy adjustments. Commenting on the PISA results in Belarus, World Bank expert Tigran Shmis tactfully remarked that the policy of coaching the top leaves those at the bottom forgotten, which means that education ceases to be a social lift that a social welfare state is supposed to provide. Well-balanced education policy and particular attention to those having lower grades gives better results and ensures prosperity, Shmis said.2 However, this opportunity gap neither surprised nor alarmed the Education Ministry. “In my opinion, we have normal conditions for everyone,” said Director of the Republican Institute for Knowledge Control Yuri Miksyuk.3

This understanding of what seems to be normal is clearly seen in the Education Ministry’s policy guidelines. The document ‘Conceptual Approaches to Development of the Education System of the Republic of Belarus for the Period to 2020 and the Outlook for the Period to 2030’ approved by the minister in 20174 does not set the task to ensure equal access to secondary or higher education for vulnerable groups of the population. The authors understand inclusive education as physical accessibility of school buildings for people with disabilities, and the authorities ignored all other social groups that need preferential support.

A similar approach is seen in the World Bank’s Belarus Higher Education Modernization Project5 and in the Strategy for the Development of State Youth Policy in the Republic of Belarus for the Period to 2030.6 None of them even mentions facilitated access to quality education.

There was no need to wait for PISA results to see this problem. Social deformations are also vivid in the official statistics on the availability of higher education, which declined from 85.6% to 64.8% in 2011–2018. The share of graduates of rural schools among university students was three times smaller than their share among schoolchildren. And 90.6% of those who study in the Belarusian language are rural schoolchildren, i. e. social discrimination goes hand in hand with cultural discrimination.

Even in those rare cases when care for inclusiveness is proclaimed, the effect is the opposite: the proportion of people with disabilities among university students is steadily decreasing. Besides, gender balance is being failed to achieve in higher education.

Quality vs availability: neither

The government has been accused for years of neglecting the quality of education for the sake of its accessibility. The accessibility as a fundamental principle of modern education is off the agenda now. Efforts to improve the quality, however, turn into political illusionism. Inflation of the results of centralized testing continued in 2019. A new approach to scoring made it possible to report the improved quality of secondary education.

But the declarative focus on the quality and modernization of secondary and higher education, for which the government takes foreign grants and loans, in fact, appears to be a mirage. Obligations taken under the Bologna process are not fulfilled even in the most reduced variants. The Education Ministry’s extremely diluted work plan for 2019 was not even half executed.7

Education authorities’ delusion manifested itself in the ban on cell phones in classrooms and regular coercion to vote early during elections, which students do not resist anymore. This universal conformism was slightly disturbed by the Youth Bloc during the 2019 parliamentary elections, but the reaction of both teachers and most students to the attempt of few bold spirits to unveil the administrative coercion to vote early rather indicates a mass adaptation to such manipulations and reluctance to challenge official results.

Even when actions of the authorities affect the vital interests of the people, as it happened when accreditation of five educational programs at the Minsk Innovation University was denied, the timid attempt to protest (the student strike on November 11, 2019) died out shortly after the Prosecutor’s Office issued an official warning. Society has got used to the arbitrary application of quality control tools so much that few believed that nothing but politics were behind the decision that put the university on the verge of closure.

Neither the academic community, nor civil society is willing to publicly protest against this quality control instrumentalization. And this passiveness contrasts markedly with the reaction to the closure of the European Humanities University in 2004, which caused massive protests. And now, 15 years later, there are just few unheard voices.

Corporate university instead of education reform

In 2019, the IT sector initiated a discussion of education reform in Belarus. The outwardly restrained dialogue between High Technology Park (HTP) residents and officials of the Ministry of Education, including rectors of several universities, could not but spill over reciprocal claims and grudges into the public domain.

HTP companies pointed at the inadequate skills of graduates resulted from poor academic education as a reason for refusal to hire. In turn, the minister and rectors said that potential employers did not generally apprehend the fundamental nature of educational programs, and required just niche specialization. In response to complaints about the quality of training, the minister spoke about the number of Belarusian universities and 24,000 students majoring in three dozen IT disciplines. In the absence of ‘fresh blood’ in the faculties who have long been obsolete in terms of the modern labor market requirements, university managers are inclined to blame the IT sector for poaching young specialists.

This kind of dialogue has no future and hence there is no hope for real higher education reform. Furthermore, according to President Lukashenko, “We have never initiated education reforms and we never will.” “We must improve what we have today and what we obtained yesterday,” he said.8

The attempts to push the system toward change come to naught. Similarly, in 2009–2010, HTP residents tried to find common language with the state regarding an improvement of IT education in universities. Round-table conferences were held, and a cooperation program was announced to combine efforts of the business community and government agencies for training personnel for IT companies.

With a view to comprehensively address IT education, the Council of Ministers of Belarus appointed a standing inter-agency ad hoc group headed by the first deputy minister of education (resolution of March 31, 2010), but the results were discouraging.

Similar attempts were made more than once later, but the interests of employers and education officials continued to diverge. The IT industry did not trigger changes in the higher education system.

The only thing the rectors and employers agreed on was that the legislation in force did not contribute to modernization of education. While the universities were determined to obediently wait for a new version of the Education Code, IT companies tried to obtain at least partial legal immunity for the implementation of the local corporate university project.

On October 14, Alexander Lukashenko held a meeting, after which then-Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Turchin announced the establishment if an IT university before the beginning of the new academic year.9 The legal status of this university is yet to be clarified, but it is already clear that it will be uneasy for its founders (IT companies, Belarusian State University and Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics) to align their interests. The administrations of these universities do not conceal their negative attitude to the new establishment, believing that they would provide better education to the future IT personnel than a corporate university.

The history of previous attempts to set up an advanced university in Belarus gives reason to doubt that this can be done now. For instance, there was a plan to open an international university “like Cambridge or Harvard” in 2010. The prime minister formed a task group to work on the project that, sabotaged by the Ministry of Education, died quietly after a while. The new IT university has enough opponents in the formal education system, and the president’s support cannot guarantee success. The failure to establish a Belarusian language university can be mentioned as an example.

Conclusion

The apparent and comprehensive deformation of state education policy manifested itself in 2019 as vividly as never before. The demonstrative neglect of the availability of quality education cannot be disputed after the PISA results were published.

Social obligations of the state are no longer included in the policy documents of the Ministry of Education, although the leader of the pro-president Communist Party of Belarus has been heading the ministry for three years now. On the other hand, the populist rhetoric of the highest political leadership, which, by law, is responsible for the content of state education policy, does not whatsoever influence the antisocial strategy of the Ministry of Education, which is strange.

The ministry, rectors and other education officials explain themselves, saying that there is no progress in legislative reform; employers are reluctant to contribute to financing education, etc. And yet they are suspicious when it comes to alternative strategies aimed at improving the quality of general and professional training.

It is unclear whether the World Bank will be able to railroad education reforms in Belarus in exchange for a quarter-billion loan. So far, the education system has managed to avoid pivotal changes, minimizing obligations and delaying their fulfilment. It is quite possible that the next stage of modernization of the state education system will be futile. The IT sector’s attempt to make a difference failed, and now, there is only hope for international stakeholders and efforts of the business community to work out an informal alternative to vocational education.

Школы и вузы: деформации образовательной политики

Владимир Дунаев

Резюме

В 2019 году отчётливо обозначился фундаментальный дефект государственной образовательной политики – усиливающееся социальное неравенство в доступе к качественному образованию и, как следствие, блокирование социальных лифтов. Руководство «социального государства», включая министерство образования, предпочитает игнорировать этот вызов.

Министерство образования демонстративно исключает социальное измерение из своих стратегических документов. Но, отказываясь от политики инклюзивности, ведомство не ведёт реальную борьбу за качество подготовки в средней и высшей школе. Вместо неё – манипуляции с инструментами контроля качества, политический иллюзионизм и выдавливание других стейкхолдеров из сферы формального образования.

В 2019 году чиновники Минобразования нейтрализовали попытки IT-сектора подтолкнуть реформу профессионального образования и реализовали консервативную стратегию минимизации обязательств в отношениях с зарубежными донорами.

Тенденции:
PISA-шок, который не заметили

В 2018 году Беларусь впервые приняла участие в проводимой Организацией экономического сотрудничества и развития Международной программе по оценке образовательных достижений учащихся – PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment). Особенностью PISA является то, что на основе тестирования способности 15-летних подростков применять полученные знания можно оценить национальную систему среднего образования.

Участие в PISA явилось частью проекта Всемирного банка по модернизации среднего образования Беларуси. Тестирование прошли 5 803 десятиклассника из 236 учреждений образования (176 школ, 27 гимназий, 6 лицеев, 13 ссузов и 14 учреждений профессионально-технического образования).

Вопреки ожиданиям, итоги тестирования PISA, опубликованные в декабре 2019 года,1 оказались не самыми шокирующими и вполне удовлетворили чиновников из Минобразования. Но 36-е место из 79 стран, принявших участие в PISA-2018, лишь на первый взгляд даёт повод для удовлетворительной оценки беларусской школы.

За благополучным средним результатом скрывается шокирующий разрыв в уровне подготовки учащихся элитных учреждений образования и сельских школьников. В читательской грамотности он достигает 106, в математической – 112, в естественно-научной – 113 пунктов. Если учесть, что 40 пунктов равноценно 1 году обучения, то такой разрыв означает отставание сельских школьников почти на 3 года от учащихся лицеев.

Не менее чувствительная разница в 102 балла обнаружилась между результатами, которые показали школьники из обеспеченных семей и учащиеся с низким социально-экономическим статусом. Если бы в анкете содержался вопрос о репетиторах, то, возможно, успех детей из обеспеченных семей пришлось бы отнести на счёт этих оплаченных дополнительных услуг, а не эффективности учебного процесса в лицеях и гимназиях.

Беларусь не единственная страна с выраженным неравенством в аспекте доступности качественного образования. В большинстве случаев это является поводом для тревоги и существенной корректировки образовательной политики. Комментируя итоги PISA в Беларуси, эксперт Всемирного банка Тигран Шмис тактично заметил, что «политика натаскивания “верхов” оставляет забытыми “низы”, то есть образование перестаёт быть социальным лифтом, на что ориентировано социальное государство. Практика показала, что сбалансированная образовательная политика и особенное внимание к нижней доле распределения даёт лучшие результаты и обеспечивает процветание».2 Однако у чиновников Минобразования данное неравенство возможностей не вызвало ни удивления, ни тревоги. Директор Республиканского института контроля знаний Юрий Миксюк сформулировал это предельно ясно: «По-моему, у нас нормальные условия для всех».3

Такое понимание нормы чётко просматривается и в принятых министерством образования основных направлениях образовательной политики. Документ «Концептуальные подходы к развитию системы образования Республики Беларусь до 2020 года и на перспективу до 2030 года», утверждённый министром образования в 2017 году,4 в принципе не ставит задачу по обеспечению равного доступа ни к среднему, ни к высшему образованию для уязвимых групп населения. Инклюзивность понимается авторами этого опуса только как расширение физической доступности школьных зданий для людей с инвалидностью. Все остальные социальные группы, нуждающиеся в преференционных механизмах поддержки, игнорируются властью.

Аналогичная позиция просматривается и в проекте Всемирного банка «Модернизация высшего образования Республики Беларусь»,5 и в проекте «Стратегии развития государственной молодёжной политики в Республике Беларусь до 2030 года».6 Ни в одном из этих документов нет даже упоминания о задачах повышения доступности качественного образования.

Для того чтобы увидеть эту проблему, не надо было ждать итогов PISA. Социальные деформации отчётливо просматриваются и на данных официальной статистики по доступности высшего образования, которая с 2011 по 2018 годы снизилась с 85.6 до 64.8%. Доля выпускников сельских школ среди студентов оказалась в три раза ниже их доли среди школьников. При этом 90.6% обучающихся на беларусском языке – это именно сельские школьники. Таким образом, социальная дискриминация дополняется ещё и культурной.

Даже в тех редких случаях, когда провозглашается забота об инклюзивности, эффект оказывается противоположным: последовательно и неуклонно снижается доля людей с инвалидностью среди студентов. Также не удаётся достичь гендерного баланса в высшей школе.

Качество vs доступность: ни того, ни другого

В течение многих лет руководство страны упрекали в пренебрежении качеством образования ради его доступности. К настоящему времени такой фундаментальный принцип современной образовательной политики, как доступность, просто исчез из повестки дня.

Борьба за качество, впрочем, тоже превращается в разновидность политического иллюзионизма. В 2019 году продолжались упражнения по приукрашиванию результатов централизованного тестирования. Новый подход к подсчёту баллов позволил отчитаться в повышении качества среднего образования.

Но декларативная нацеленность на качество и модернизацию средней и высшей школы, под которую власти привлекают иностранные гранты и кредиты, на поверку оборачивается миражом. Так, обязательства по имплементации Болонских ценностей и инструментов не выполняются даже в самом облегчённом варианте. Предельно выхолощенный Рабочий план Минобразования на 2019 год не был выполнен и наполовину.7

Попытки руководства сферы образования избежать встречи с реальностью просматриваются и в запрете ученикам пользоваться мобильными телефонами в классе, и в уже не встречающих сопротивления у студентов регулярных кампаниях досрочного голосования на выборах. В 2019 году этот всеобщий конформизм был несколько потревожен выступлением «Моладзевага блока» в период парламентских выборов. Но реакция как преподавателей, так и большинства студентов на попытку отдельных смельчаков придать огласке методы побуждения к досрочному голосованию свидетельствует скорее о массовой адаптации к таким манипуляциям и неготовности оспаривать официальные оценки.

Даже когда действия власти затрагивают жизненные интересы людей, как в случае отказа в аккредитации пяти образовательных программ в Минском инновационном университете, робкая попытка протеста – студенческая забастовка 11 ноября 2019 года – мгновенно сошла на нет после предупреждения прокуратуры. Минобразования настолько приучило общество к произвольному использованию инструментов контроля качества, что мало кто поверил, что за решением, грозящим закрытием вуза, стоит не что иное, как политическая интрига.

Таким образом, ни академическая среда, ни гражданское общество не готовы публично протестовать против подобной инструментализации системы контроля качества. И нынешняя пассивность заметно контрастирует с реакцией на закрытие Европейского гуманитарного университета в 2004 году, когда действия властей вызвали широкий протест. А спустя 15 лет – лишь слабый отклик.

Корпоративный университет вместо реформы образования

С подачи IT-сектора весь 2019 год прошёл под знаком дискуссий о реформе образования в Беларуси. Диалог между работодателями из Парка высоких технологий (ПВТ) и чиновниками Минобразования, включая ректоров некоторых университетов, при внешней сдержанности не мог не выплеснуть в публичное пространство взаимные претензии и обиды.

Резиденты ПВТ ссылались на низкий теоретический уровень подготовки выпускников как причину отказов в трудоустройстве. Со своей стороны министр и ректоры упрекали работодателей в том, что они не могут оценить фундаментальность образовательных программ и требуют от выпускников узкой специализации. В ответ на претензии к качеству подготовки специалистов министр рассказывал о количестве беларусских вузов, в которых подготовку проходят по трём десяткам IT-специальностей 24 тыс. человек. В отсутствие же «свежей крови» в рядах преподавателей, давно отставших от запросов рынка труда, руководители высшей школы склонны винить сам IT-сектор, переманивающий молодые кадры.

У такого диалога нет перспектив, и как следствие, нет надежд на реальное реформирование высшего образования. Тем более что, по словам президента А. Лукашенко, «реформами мы никогда не занимались и заниматься в образовании не будем. Мы должны совершенствовать то, что имеем сегодня, и то, что получили вчера».8

Попытки подтолкнуть систему к переменам регулярно заканчиваются безрезультатно. Точно так же в 2009–2010 годах резиденты ПВТ пытались найти взаимопонимание с государством по вопросу совершенствования подготовки IT-специалистов в системе высшего образования. Проводились круглые столы, объявлялось о создании программы сотрудничества бизнес-сообщества и государственных структур по подготовке кадров в интересах компаний IT-индустрии.

Для комплексной проработки вопросов подготовки специалистов в области информационных технологий поручением Совета министров Республики Беларусь от 31 марта 2010 года была создана постоянно действующая Межведомственная рабочая группа (МРГ) во главе с первым заместителем министра образования. Однако положительных изменений добиться не удалось.

В последующие годы не раз предпринимались похожие попытки. Вот и на этот раз интересы работодателей и чиновников системы образования разошлись. IT-сектор не стал триггером перемен в высшей школе.

Единственное, в чём ректоры и работодатели сошлись, так это в том, что существующее законодательство не способствует модернизации образования. В то время как вузы настроились и дальше покорно ждать новой редакции Кодекса об образовании, IT-сектор попытался получить хотя бы частичный правовой иммунитет для реализации локального проекта корпоративного университета.

Четырнадцатого октября Александр Лукашенко провёл совещание, после которого тогдашний вице-премьер Александр Турчин заявил, что в Беларуси к новому учебному году создадут IT-вуз.9 Правовой статус учебного заведения ещё предстоит установить, но уже сейчас понятно, что учредителям будет не просто согласовать интересы. Помимо IT-компаний фундаторами должны стать два госуниверситета – БГУ и БГУИР. Руководство этих вузов не скрывает своего негативного отношения к созданию нового университета, полагая, что с задачей подготовки кадров для цифровой индустрии их собственные учебные заведения справятся лучше, чем корпоративный вуз.

История попыток создать передовой университет в Беларуси даёт основания сомневаться в реалистичности такого проекта. Можно напомнить о планах открытия международного университета «уровня Кембриджа или Гарварда» в 2010 году. Тогда также распоряжением премьер-министра создавалась рабочая группа, которая должна была приступить к разработке проекта. Но благодаря саботажу Минобразования проект бесследно угас. У будущего IT-университета достаточно противников в системе формального образования, а поддержка президента – далеко не гарантия успеха. Вспомнить хотя бы недавнюю историю создания университета с беларусским языком обучения.

Заключение

Никогда прежде так отчётливо и комплексно не обозначалась деформация государственной образовательной политики, как в 2019 году. Демонстративное пренебрежение доступностью качественного образования стало особенно очевидным после публикации результатов PISA.

Социальные обязательства государства больше не фигурируют в программных документах министерства образования, несмотря на то что во главе ведомства уже три года находится лидер лояльных нынешнему президенту коммунистов. С другой стороны, популистская риторика высшего политического руководства, по закону несущего ответственность за содержание государственной образовательной политики, странным образом никак не влияет на антисоциальную стратегию Минобразования.

Руководители министерства, ректоры и другие отраслевые чиновники оправдываются отсутствием прогресса в реформе законодательства, незаинтересованностью работодателей участвовать в финансировании образования и пр. Но при этом они с подозрением реагируют на любые альтернативные стратегии повышения качества как общей, так и профессиональной подготовки.

Сможет ли Всемирный банк в обмен на четвертьмиллиардный кредит подтолкнуть реформы образования в Беларуси, остаётся неясным. До сих пор системе образования удавалось избегать кардинальных перемен, минимизируя обязательства и затягивая их выполнение. Возможно, очередной этап модернизации государственной системы образования окажется бесплодным. После краха попыток IT-сектора её улучшить, остаётся надеяться на международных стейкхолдеров и усилия бизнеса по развитию неформальной альтернативы профессиональной школе.