Presidential Administration: Preparing for the sixth presidential term

Nikolai Burov

Summary

In 2019, the Presidential Administration of Belarus made determined efforts to get ready for upcoming challenges, primarily to ensure Alexander Lukashenko’s re-election in a difficult socio-economic and political situation. An attempt was made to reconsider the ideological component of domestic policy, reinforce the ideological platform and provide follow-up information and analytical support for the presidential vertical. The composition of the Administration was considerably renewed.

However, the Administration’s efforts were ineffective largely due to the inertia of the vertical and the conservative position of the head of state. As a result, the most important tasks – creation of an ideological platform for the presidential campaign, personnel policy, development of a new version of the law on public service and possible amendments to the Constitution – have been performed in a highly conservative way.

Trends:
Ideological platform update

One of the paramount tasks of the Presidential Administration in 2019 was to provide ideological backup to the parliamentary and the future presidential elections. Two main propaganda emphases were chosen out of several options: first, to highlight the merits of the incumbent president in overcoming the crisis of the 1990s (Alexander Lukashenko spoke about this when visiting the Presidential Academy of Public Administration on October 18, and addressing the upper and lower chambers of the parliament on December 5), and, second, to emphasize the value of Belarus’ independence and sovereignty, which only the incumbent president can guarantee. Attempts to add other topics failed. Much hope was pinned on the possible propaganda effect of the 2nd European Games, but the public remained generally indifferent about them.

The work with petitions filed by individuals who point at local issues was used, as always, as a tool to legitimize the sitting government. Once again, the Administration was instructed to closely monitor the compliance with the requirement to quickly respond to people’s complaints. To this end, monitoring groups were appointed to look into the highlighted local communities’ problems. Administration officers meet with petitioners in the regions on a regular basis, saying that society is growing impatient seeking justice. In response, the central authorities, among other things, declare their commitment to restrain the arbitrariness of security agencies.

The Administration cannot but feel the need for some adjustment to the ideological component, or at least of an adequate interpretation of the complex processes that Belarus is facing at the current stage. However, after the appointment of Vladimir Zhevnyak as deputy presidential chief of staff for ideology in April 2018, observers unanimously described the efforts taken in the field of ideology as clueless and ineffective.1 V. Zhevnyak was replaced by Andrei Kuntsevich on August 19, 2019. He was given a “simple” task to ensure consolidation of Belarusian society.

The areas of the Administration’s ideological efforts remained separated. A. Kuntsevich oversees ideology, public associations and media, which overlaps with the functions of presidential press secretary and confidant Natalia Eismont, which competes with Kuntsevich in this matter. First Deputy Chief of Staff Maxim Ryzhenkov is in charge of ideological matters related to culture and education.

Last year, Orsha remained the area of special responsibility of the Administration and the chief of staff (in particular, the regional logistics hub of the Bremino Group LLC). Despite heavy investment and the repeated personal participation of Chief of Staff Natalia Kochanova in field sessions of the Vitebsk Regional Executive Committee in Orsha, no considerable successes in the Orsha district development project were achieved.

The personnel pool still fails to cope

The Administration’s personnel problem has become chronic, basically not just because the personnel pool is too shallow, but also because the potential candidates for senior positions are professionally unfit. Addressing the Minsk Region functionaries on December 4, President Lukashenko pointed at the large number of unfilled executive positions. Although the pool numbered 209 people in the reserve, 47 offices in the regional and district executive committee remained vacant.2

Apparently, the Administration has no idea how to overcome the personnel crisis. Formally, personnel policy does work with all regular rotations and the skill pool formation. On the other hand, attempts are made to resolve this problem, involving traditional tools, such as training at the Academy of Public Administration and changes in legislation, in particular, the law on public service.

Decree No. 343 on activities of the Presidential Academy of Public Administration of September 16 approves a new charter of the Academy, but does not make significant changes in comparison with its old versions. When visiting the Academy on October 18, Lukashenko said that the current civil service system generally met its objectives, and only needed updates, which the new version of the law on public service is meant to make.

The quality of training at the Academy of Public Administration is hard to assess from the outside, while quite enough is known about draft amendments to the law on public service. Despite the direct instructions given by the head of state, the new version of the law was not finalized in 2019. The proposed changes are mainly aimed at tightening the rules and regulations applicable to public servants, and at equaling their status with security and defense agencies’ staff.3 The fact that the new version was not provided on schedule suggests increasing personnel problems in Belarus.

The frequent reshuffles in the presidential vertical also indicate personnel policy imbalances. Nearly 40 new chairs of district and city executive committees and heads of city administrations were appointed in 2019. Alexander Turchin (previously first deputy prime minister) replaced Anatoly Isachenko as chairman of the Minsk Regional Executive Committee. Gennady Solovey took the office of the Gomel Regional Executive Committee head. Lukashenko appointed presidential assistants, chief regional inspectors: Anatoly Linevich in the Vitebsk Region, Anatoly Markevich in the Brest Region, and Vitaly Prima in Minsk city.

Big personnel changes took place in the Administration as well. Former First Deputy Chairman of the KGB Igor Sergeyenko was appointed chief of staff. He replaced Natalia Kochanova, whose deputy in charge of legislation and interaction with the National Assembly Valery Mitskevich (since 2009) was replaced by Olga Chupris. Some experts believe that Mitskevich’s replacement4 is connected with the announced significant changes in laws and, primarily, the Constitution.

Constitutional amendments

Talks about possible amendments to the Belarusian Constitution resumed in 2018. President Lukashenko emphatically rejected this idea at that time. A year later, in March 2019, he returned to this subject during the Big Talk with the President. Lukashenko stated the need to give more powers to other branches of government, saying that this must be done extremely cautiously, and that amendments would by no means be steamrolled.5

During the president’s annual address to the nation and the parliament on April 19, Lukashenko said that the work on draft amendments to the Constitution and personnel decisions would be supervised by the chief of staff.

The most serious question that arose in 2019 in connection with possible amendments to the Constitution concerned Lukashenko’s re-election for the sixth term and then the possible procedure for the transfer of power. Technically, three questions are most relevant: (1) Does Belarus need a new Constitution, or certain amendments to the Constitution in force would be enough? (2) Which election should go first in 2020, parliamentary or presidential? (3) What ideological component will be chosen for these campaigns? The Administration decided on the second and partly the third one before the autumn. The first one will be thought over later.

Possible constitutional amendments have been considered in Belarus for nearly a decade now. This matter seems to be uncomfortable to the president. Many observers believe that the replacement of Valery Mitskevich with Olga Chupris means that the creation of a mechanism for the transfer of power can move to a new level.

No efforts spared to prepare for the presidential election

From the point of view of the election campaign procedures, a conservative option was predictably chosen, which corresponds to Alexander Lukashenko’s wishes: the parliamentary elections will be held before the presidential election, which shortens the parliament’s tenure, but not the president’s. The parliamentary elections also followed a conservative scenario. The experiment with the admission of oppositionists to the lower chamber was not repeated.

This suggests that the 2020 presidential election will be held according to a similar scenario.6 However, it can be assumed that the authorities hesitated for quite a while, rightly believing that the socio-economic and foreign policy environment may be less favorable in the coming year to formalize the next presidential term of Alexander Lukashenko in comparison with 2019. Although the president seemingly does not want constitutional amendments, he increasingly needs to figure out the way to legitimize his future successor.

The whole mechanism designed for elections has been working pretty good for years and proved reliable, but the results of the 2019 parliamentary campaign were kind of disappointing. The turnout in the regions was significantly lower than expected by the Administration (although this can only be judged by indirect indicators). The rating of the sitting government was also low. Since public sentiments and the turnout during elections are the area of responsibility of the presidential vertical, there might be truth to the rumors that Natalia Kochanova had to step down as chief of staff in early December because the president was not happy about the parliamentary elections statistics.

Kochanova’s removal from office was a matter of discussion throughout the year. It is not so much about mistakes she made, as the president’s strong commitment to regular managerial personnel rotations. Such a rotation was expected after the presidential election, though. This gives reason to assume that something went wrong with the parliamentary elections.

The appointment of former KGB officer, Major General Igor Sergeyenko as chief of staff on December 5 came as a surprise to many. There is, certainly, nothing unusual in the appointment of a security officer to the Administration. Gennady Nevyglas, Viktor Sheiman and Ural Latypov can be mentioned as examples. The point is that security officials of such high rank had not headed the staff since 2008. Experts see Sergeyenko’s appointment as an indicator that the authorities plan to hold the 2020 election without a single hint at liberalization and with a guaranteed victory of the incumbent president.

The Administration understands that the information and analytical support for its activities needs to be strengthened substantially in the face of far-reaching changes. Formally, the Belarusian Institute for Strategic Research is being established to this end on the basis of the Administration’s Information and Analytical Center by decree No. 49 of February 12, 2019. It is yet unclear what the fundamental difference between these two agencies will be. In general, this reorganization is more like a redistribution of the areas of responsibility without an increase in budgetary funding. In particular, the Institute for Strategic Research has already announced a significant reduction in the sociological component of its activities.

Conclusion

The year 2019 was quite stressful for the Administration. It was tasked to rejuvenate its staff and prepare for the two election campaigns, and one of these tasks – the 2019 parliamentary elections – has been coped with relatively successfully. Other tasks will be addressed later.

Judging by a number of indicators, the 2020 presidential election will follow a strong-arm scenario in conditions of domestic socio-economic problems and the tension in the relationship with Russia. Furthermore, the wriggle room is confined by the rules of the game and the very conservative position of the head of state.

Администрация президента: подготовка к шестому президентскому сроку

Николай Буров

Резюме

В 2019 году Администрация президента Республики Беларусь (АП) предпринимала серьёзные шаги с целью подготовки к вызовам ближайшего будущего – обеспечению переизбрания Александра Лукашенко в сложных социально-экономических и политических условиях. Предпринята попытка переосмыслить идеологическое содержание внутренней политики, укрепить идеологическую «платформу», повысить подготовку президентской «вертикали», усилить информационно-аналитическое сопровождение. При этом руководство самой администрации значительно обновилось.

Вместе с тем деятельность АП во многом оказалась малоэффективной ввиду инертности институтов существующей модели и консервативной позиции главы государства. В результате важнейшие задачи – создание идеологической платформы президентских выборов, кадровая политика, разработка новой редакции закона «О государственной службе», возможное изменение Конституции – решались в консервативном варианте.

Тенденции:
Обновить идеологическую платформу

В 2019 году одной из важнейших задач Администрации президента (АП) явилась выработка идеологического сопровождения двух избирательных кампаний – парламентской и будущей президентской. Предположительно рассматривалось несколько вариантов, но в итоге принято решение сделать два основных пропагандистских акцента.

Первый – подчёркивание заслуг действующего президента в преодолении кризиса 1990-х годов. Этот тезис Александр Лукашенко озвучил при посещении Академии управления при Президенте Республики Беларусь (18 октября) и в обращении к депутатам двух палат парламента (5 декабря). Второй тезис акцентирует ценность независимости и суверенитета, гарантировать которые может только действующий президент. Попытки подмешать другие идеологические сюжеты успехом не увенчались. В частности, некоторые надежды возлагались на пропагандистский эффект II Европейских игр. Эти надежды себя не оправдали, а сами игры общественным мнением восприняты в лучшем случае нейтрально.

К традиционным инструментам укрепления легитимности действующей власти можно отнести упор на работу с обращениями граждан. В очередной раз АП поручено осуществлять жёсткий контроль над рассмотрением многочисленных обращений граждан. Для чего были созданы специальные мониторинговые группы, которые непосредственно в регионах занимались озвученными гражданами проблемами. Руководство АП проводит личные приёмы граждан в регионах на регулярной основе. По словам представителей аппарата президента, запрос на справедливость в обществе обостряется. Декларативные намерения государства ограничить произвол силовиков – одна из попыток дать ответ на этот запрос.

Безусловно, АП ощущает необходимость в некоторой корректировке идеологической составляющей политики или хотя бы в адекватной интерпретации сложных процессов, с которыми Беларусь сталкивается на текущем этапе. Вместе с тем после назначения в апреле 2018 года Владимира Жевняка заместителем главы АП по идеологии, наблюдатели дружно квалифицировали идеологическую работу как беспомощную и неэффективную.1 Девятнадцатого августа 2019 года на место В. Жевняка получил назначение Андрей Кунцевич. Перед ним была поставлена «простая» задача – обеспечить консолидацию беларусского общества.

Внутри АП сохранилось разделение идеологической работы. Андрей Кунцевич курирует идеологию, общественные объединения и СМИ и функционально пересекается с пресс-секретарём и доверенным лицом президента Натальей Эйсмонт, которая составляет ему конкуренцию. Первый заместитель главы АП Максим Рыженков отвечает за связанные с идеологией вопросы культуры и образования.

В прошедшем году зоной особой ответственности АП и лично её главы оставалась Орша (в частности, реализуемый в районе логистический проект ООО «Бремино групп»). Несмотря на большой объём вложенных средств и неоднократное личное участие главы администрации Натальи Кочановой в выездных заседаниях Витебского облисполкома в Орше, говорить о каких-то успехах в развитии оршанского региона не приходится.

Кадры по-прежнему не могут решить всё

Кадровая проблема в АП приобрела хронический характер. И дело здесь не только в том, что «скамейка запасных» слишком коротка, но и в качественной подготовке претендентов на занятие ответственных должностей. Так, выступая 4 декабря на совещании с активом Минской области, президент Александр Лукашенко обратил внимание на большое количество вакантных руководящих должностей. Несмотря на наличие резерва из 209 человек, в области остаются 47 вакансий на должности кадрового реестра облисполкома и райисполкомов.2

По всей видимости, у АП нет понимания, как преодолеть кадровый кризис. С формальной точки зрения система кадровой политики работает, ротация кадров осуществляется, резервы формируются. С другой стороны, очевидно, что эту проблему пытаются решить с помощью традиционных инструментов – обучения в Академии управлении и изменения законодательства, в частности закона «О государственной службе».

Шестнадцатого сентября подписан указ № 343 «О деятельности Академии управления при Президенте Республики Беларусь», который одновременно утверждает и новый устав Академии. Однако существенных изменений при сравнении старых и новых версий зафиксировать не удалось. Восемнадцатого октября, посещая Академию управления, Александр Лукашенко отметил, что сложившаяся система госслужбы в целом соответствует своим задачам. Необходимо только её совершенствовать, чему и призвана служить новая редакция закона «О государственной службе».

Если внешнему наблюдателю сложно оценить качество обучения в Академии управления, то о проекте изменений в закон «О государственной службе» известно достаточно. Так, несмотря на прямые поручения главы государства, разработка новой редакции закона не была завершена в 2019 году. Предлагаемые изменения в основном направлены на ужесточение правил и норм, действующих в отношении госслужащих, а также на уравнивание их статуса с работниками/военнослужащими силовых структур.3 Задержка с разработкой новой редакции закона отражает нарастающие проблемы в кадровой политике государства.

Ещё одним косвенным индикатором дисбалансов в кадровой политике является высокая ротация президентской «вертикали». Так, в течение 2019 года получили назначение ок. 40 новых председателей райисполкомов, горисполкомов и глав администраций в городах. Назначен новый председатель Минского облисполкома – вместо Анатолия Исаченко им стал Александр Турчин, покинувший должность первого вице-премьера. Нового руководителя получила и Гомельская область, её возглавил Геннадий Соловей. Назначены новые помощники президента – инспекторы по областям: Витебская область получила Анатолия Линевича, Брестская область – Анатолия Маркевича, город Минск – Виталия Приму.

Сама администрация также претерпела серьёзные кадровые изменения. Так, главой этой структуры стал бывший первый заместитель председателя КГБ Игорь Сергеенко, сместив на посту Наталью Кочанову. Лишился своей должности и один из заместителей главы АП Валерий Мицкевич, занимавший её с 2009 года (курировал вопросы законодательства и взаимодействия с Национальным собранием). Преемницей В. Мицкевича стала Ольга Чуприс. Некоторые эксперты связывают уход Мицкевича4 с необходимостью знаковых изменений в законодательстве, и прежде всего в Конституции.

Вопрос изменения Конституции

Разговоры о вероятном изменении Конституции Республики Беларусь возобновились в 2018 году. Тогда, однако, президент А. Лукашенко решительно отверг эту идею. Год спустя, в марте 2019 года, он вернулся к этому вопросу в ходе «Большого разговора». Президент заявил о необходимости усилить другие ветви власти, но оговорился, что двигаться в этом направлении следует крайне осторожно, Конституция не будет «продавливаться».5

Девятнадцатого апреля в ежегодном Послании президента беларусскому народу и Национальному собранию вопросы о кадрах и новой редакции Конституции были конкретизированы следующим образом: личная ответственность за работу над проектами документов возлагалась на главу АП.

С проблематикой возможных изменений Конституции связан доминировавший в 2019 году вопрос обеспечения переизбрания А. Лукашенко на шестой президентский срок с последующим созданием механизма передачи власти. С технической точки зрения наиболее актуальными являются три вопроса: (1) нужна ли новая Конституция или можно ограничиться внесением изменений в действующую? (2) Каков порядок проведения выборов – сначала парламентские, а затем, в 2020 году, президентские, или наоборот? 3) Какой должна быть идеологическая составляющая этих кампаний? К осени АП определилась со вторым и отчасти с третьим вопросами. Первый отложен на будущее.

Вопрос о возможных коррективах Конституции муссируется в Беларуси уже около 10 лет, и для президента этот вопрос является неприятным и вынужденным. В этом контексте многие наблюдатели восприняли замену Валерия Мицкевича на Ольгу Чуприс как косвенный индикатор того, что проблема создания механизмов транзита власти может выйти на новый уровень.

Все силы – на подготовку к президентским выборам

С точки зрения порядка проведения избирательных кампаний предсказуемо выбран консервативный и соответствующий честолюбию Александра Лукашенко вариант: парламентские выборы предшествуют президентским, ввиду чего срок полномочий парламента – но не президента – сокращается. Сами парламентские выборы проводились также по консервативному сценарию. Эксперимент с прохождением в парламент оппозиционных депутатов не повторился.

Всё это свидетельствует в пользу того, что президентские выборы 2020 будут проходить по сходному сценарию.6 Однако можно предположить, что власти долго колебались, справедливо полагая, что в наступающем году социально-экономические и внешнеполитические условия могут быть менее благоприятными для оформления очередного президентского срока Александра Лукашенко в сравнении с 2019 годом. Свою роль играет и возрастающая с каждым годом необходимость создания механизма преемственности власти, то есть внесения конституционных поправок (как бы Александр Лукашенко внутренне ни противился этому).

Несмотря на, казалось бы, отработанный годами и доказавший свою надёжность механизм проведения выборов, итоги парламентской кампании 2019 года оказались неоднозначными. Явка в регионах, по-видимому, была значительно ниже ожидаемой в АП (хотя судить об этом можно лишь по косвенным признакам). То же самое касается и низкого рейтинга действующей власти. Поскольку настроения людей и их явка на избирательные участки – зона прямой ответственности президентской «вертикали», можно с определённой долей доверия воспринимать циркулирующие слухи, что одной из причин снятия Натальи Кочановой с должности главы АП в начале декабря явилось недовольство президента итогами парламентских выборов.

Впрочем, возможное отстранение Н. Кочановой широко обсуждалось на протяжении всего года. И дело не столько в её промахах и недоработках, сколько в стремлении президента регулярно проводить ротацию руководящего состава. Однако ожидалось, что такая ротация произойдёт после президентских выборов. В конечном итоге можно согласиться с выводом, что с парламентскими выборами что-то «пошло не так».

Назначение 5 декабря главой АП выходца из КГБ, генерал-майора Игоря Сергеенко стало для многих неожиданностью. Разумеется, силовик во главе АП не является чем-то необычным – вспомнить хотя бы Геннадия Невыгласа, Виктора Шеймана или Урала Латыпова. Между тем с 2008 года руководителями этой структуры не назначались силовики такого высокого уровня. Эксперты восприняли назначение Игоря Сергеенко как индикатор того, что власть планирует провести избирательную кампанию 2020 года без каких-либо намёков на либерализацию и с гарантированной победой действующего президента.

В АП понимают, что в условиях серьёзных изменений необходимо существенно усилить информационно-аналитическое сопровождение собственной деятельности. Формально с этой целью указом № 49 от 12 февраля 2019 года на базе Информационно-аналитического центра при АП (ИАЦ) создан Беларусский институт стратегических исследований (БИСИ). В чём состоит принципиальная разница между этими двумя структурами, пока непонятно. В целом реорганизация больше напоминает передел сфер влияния при экономии бюджетных средств. В частности, БИСИ уже заявил о существенном сокращении социологического компонента своей деятельности.

Заключение

2019 год прошёл довольно напряжённо для АП: перед администрацией были поставлены серьёзные задачи по обновлению кадрового состава и подготовке к двум избирательным кампаниям. Из перечисленных задач относительно успешно решена одна – парламентские выборы 2019 года. Остальные задачи переносятся на будущий период.

Президентские выборы 2020, судя по ряду признаков, пройдут по жёсткому сценарию. К тому же их проведение осложняется напряжённой социально-экономической ситуацией в стране и трениями между Беларусью и Россией. При этом возможности для манёвра ограничены существующими правилами игры и весьма консервативной позицией главы государства.