Currency Market: Under pressure of external factors

Alexander Mukha

Summary

In 2014, amid increasing geopolitical risks and economic sanctions imposed by the European Union and the United States against Russia, the Russian ruble dramatically depreciated, and the Russian economic expansion slowed. As a result, supplies of Belarusian-made products and services to Russia became unprofitable, which caused the government and the National Bank to take urgent measures. In order to support the price competitiveness of Belarusian exporters and increase import costs, the authorities devaluated the national currency. At the same time, the strengthening of administrative price controls by the state allowed limiting import supplies and curbing demand for foreign exchange.

In 2015, the authorities will continue using the tactics of internal devaluation envisaging measures to reduce internal demand, real wages, and real GDP in order to restrict external depreciation of the Belarusian ruble against the main foreign currencies.

Trends:
Money market

Geopolitical tensions in the region grew stronger in 2014 in the wake of the Ukrainian crisis. In response to Russia’s campaign in Crimea and the southeast of Ukraine, the European Union, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Switzerland, Norway, and some other countries imposed economic sanctions against leading Russian banks, oil and gas companies, and defense enterprises.

The sanctions lead to foreign capital flight from Russia, for the most part through reductions in foreign debt liabilities of Russian residents. The sanctions produced a serious negative impact on not only the banks and companies, against which they were targeted, but also the rest of Russian companies and financial institutions, which suffered from limited access to international capital markets and growing costs of foreign borrowing. As a result, the Russian ruble dropped vis-à-vis the U. S. dollar to RUB 56.26 per dollar, or by 71.9%. 1

Under the circumstances, Belarusian manufacturing companies were faced with the real risk of losing the Russian market for some of their commodity groups (resulting from poor price competitiveness). At the same time, import of commodities and services from Russia hiked (specifically, of motorcars, household appliances, food, travel services, etc.).

On 18 December 2014, President Lukashenka held a meeting addressing economic policies and approved a package of measures to limit import supplies and curb demand for foreign exchange, including a 30% tax on purchases of foreign exchange by individuals and companies. The introduction of this discriminatory foreign exchange practice by the Belarusian authorities became a response to the sharp depreciation of the Russian ruble and slow growth in the Russian economy resulting from the economic sanctions imposed by the European Union, United States, and some other countries.

The tax on purchases of foreign exchange was essentially a hidden devaluation move; however, unlike classical devaluation, Belarusian exporters did not have additional preferences in terms of stronger price competitiveness in foreign markets. Soon after the introduction of the tax, real devaluation began. In the period from 18 December 2014 (the day the presidential meeting was held) to 23 March 2015, the Belarusian ruble lost 35.9% of its value, going down to BYR 14,790 per U.S. dollar. The ruble depreciated by 55.5% from 31 December 2013 to 23 March 2015, whereas the Russian ruble depreciated by 83.4% during the same period. As a result, the current depreciation gap between the Russian ruble and the Belarusian ruble is 17.9 percentage points. 2

The sharp depreciation of the Belarusian ruble may have the following negative consequences for the Belarusian economy and social sector:

  1. Fast inflation in the consumer market and manufacturing sector, decrease in living standards;
  2. Higher prices of imported goods and services (including investment commodities, natural gas, oil, and oil products);
  3. Depreciation of ruble-denominated deposits (except for those pegged to the U.S. dollar) and decrease in the propensity of households to make medium-term savings in the national currency;
  4. Need for supporting high rates on ruble-denominated deposits and, consequently, high loan rates, which may affect investment activity and economic growth as a whole;
  5. Higher debt burden associated with the servicing and repayment of the external debt and internal liabilities in foreign exchange. Combined external debt of Belarusian residents stood at USD 40.061 billion as of January 1, 2015, which includes USD 23.212 billion of gross external debt of the public sector (in its broad definition);
  6. Lower investment appeal of Belarus for foreign investors and increase in foreign capital outflow from the national economy;
  7. Growth in social tension in society and political risks in the country.

Furthermore, it is important to understand that depreciation discourages exporters to increase efficiency. Why should exporters seek to boost their efficiency and approach new markets, if another devaluation move will redistribute the money of the rest of the economic players (including households) in their favor? Overall, in the current context, sharp devaluation of the Belarusian ruble is a serious threat to the economic, financial, and political stability in the country. Belarus will eventually have to attract new foreign resources to maintain stability in the domestic money market throughout 2015.

Gold and foreign exchange reserves and current account balance

According to the National Bank, in 2014, gold and foreign exchange reserves of Belarus under the Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) dropped by USD 1.592 billion (or by 23.9%) to USD 5.059 billion as of January 1, 2015. Calculated in accordance with the national standards, gold and foreign exchange reserves fell by USD 1.521 billion (or by 21.0%) to USD 5.716 billion.

Of the total SDDS gold and foreign exchange reserves, 47.9% are formed by foreign exchange borrowed by Belarusian commercial banks. Foreign exchange liabilities of the National Bank to the banking sector amounted to USD 2.423 billion as of January 1, 2015. The low level of gold and foreign exchange reserves limits the capacity of the central bank to support the exchange rate of the Belarusian ruble within the framework of currency interventions.

At the current phase, gold and foreign exchange reserves are mostly used to repay and service internal and external debts of the central authorities (the government and the National Bank) denominated in foreign exchange. In the current context, the central bank is making use of the flexible exchange rate formation mechanism, which envisages higher volatility of the exchange rate of the Belarusian ruble to the main foreign currencies, including the U.S. dollar.

Analysis shows that in 2014, repayments of previous foreign loans taken by the central government and growth in net demand for foreign exchange by households—caused by the rapid depreciation of the Russian ruble—became the main reasons for the drop in gold and foreign exchange reserves. In December 2014, households bought a record high USD 901.6 million worth of foreign exchange (including cashless transactions) more than they sold, which compares to USD 324.8 million in November and USD 93.7 million in October.

In July 2013, net demand for foreign exchange by households amounted to USD 621.5 million (including cashless transactions), in March 2011, net demand reached USD 768.1 million, and in December 2008, net demand for foreign exchange was registered as USD 783.2 million. The structure of net demand for foreign exchange in December looked as follows: net purchases amounted to USD 328.1 million, and conversion of ruble-denominated deposits into foreign exchange deposits reached USD 573.5 million.

According to the National Bank, in January 2015, foreign exchange revenues from export of goods and services, incomes and current transfers of nonfinancial organizations and households shrank by USD 638.5 million year-on-year, or by 20%, to USD 2.547 billion (see Table 1), a new record low since January 2011.

Period Receipts Payments Balance Balance, adjusted for oil transfers
January 2012 3720.5 3255.4 465.1 128.5
February 4042.1 3646.7 395.5 71.4
March 4683.0 4324.8 358.2 –90.0
April 4716.0 4438.2 277.8 –85.9
May 5061.8 4447.1 614.6 245.8
June 4753.7 4089.3 664.4 287.1
July 4284.1 3623.8 660.4 469.2
August 4413.3 4210.0 203.3 –49.0
September 3614.1 3852.4 –238.3 –505.2
October 3809.5 3790.5 19.0 –242.8
November 3581.7 3578.5 3.2 –303.4
Deecmber 3956.5 4161.2 –204.7 –554.0
January 2013 3547.8 3514.1 33.6 –308.8
February 3510.0 3560.7 –50.7 –372.6
March 3902.2 3479.5 422.7 7.9
April 3826.3 3607.7 218.6 –83.1
May 3629.6 3800.8 –171.2 –457.4
June 3609.7 3586.9 22.8 –223.2
July 3999.6 3849.0 150.6 –150.5
August 3661.4 3795.3 –133.9 –396.2
September 3256.7 3496.1 –239.4 –423.3
October 3673.0 3582.2 90.8 –134.4
November 3214.6 3262.3 –47.7 –202.9
December 4204.6 4074.7 129.9 –143.3
January 2014 3185.2 3167.9 17.3 –289.3
February 3318.9 3294.1 24.8 –271.7
March 3739.8 3320.5 419.3 116.6
April 3532.7 3500.5 32.2 –278.9
May 3943.8 3594.5 349.3 58.7
June 3858.0 3451.4 406.6 145.2
July 4078.5 3663.9 414.6 144.4
August 3630.8 3252.3 378.5 183.0
September 3543.8 3513.5 30.3 –152.9
October 3830.4 3336.4 494.0 273.7
November 3072.0 2992.0 80.0 –105.8
December 3358.5 3687.9 –329.5 –465.4
January 2015 2546.7 2157.4 389.3
Table 1. Export and import receipts and payments, incomes and current transfers in January 2012 – January 2015, millions of U. S. dollars

Source: National Bank of Belarus

The marked reduction in currency receipts in January 2015 can be attributed to two factors: (1) following the increase in the share of mandatory surrender of currency revenues to 50% and heightened devaluation expectations companies preferred holding back some of their foreign exchange revenues abroad; (2) export supplies of Belarusian-made goods and services to Russia dropped because of the weak demand from local consumers and low profitability of exports in the wake of the devaluation of the Russian ruble in the international money market.

For their part, payments for import of goods and services, as well as incomes and current transfers of nonfinancial organizations and households in January 2015 shrank by USD 1.011 billion year-on-year, or by 31.9%, to USD 2.157 billion, a new record low since February 2010 (see Table 1). There are three main reasons behind the drop in payments in foreign exchange: (1) some importers had to suspend their operations because of the tightened administrative price controls; (2) import of goods and services fell because import prices hiked following the devaluation of the Belarusian ruble; (3) incomes of Belarusian households plummeted in real terms.

Overall, in January 2015, the surplus of foreign trade transactions associated with flows of goods, services, incomes, and transfers, amounted to USD 389.3 million, whereas in December 2014 and January 2014, foreign trade transactions came to a deficit (USD 465.4 million and USD 289.3 million, respectively). The transfer of export duties on refined oil to the Belarusian budget (starting January 2015) produced a positive impact on the external balance, along with the considerable reduction in currency payments.

In February 2015, households, companies and nonresidents became net sellers of foreign exchange. However, the expected gradual cancellation of price controls (including the abolition of resolution No. 1207 of 19 December 2014) will lead to an increase in import deliveries and, consequently, demand for foreign exchange by companies. On the other hand, in 2015, the authorities will be using the tactics of the so-called internal devaluation (reduction in domestic demand, real incomes, and real GDP), rather than external devaluation (reduction in the exchange rate of the Belarusian ruble against foreign currencies).

At the same time, the authorities have been taking measures to increase supply of foreign currency and boost gold and foreign exchange reserves – they raised the share of foreign exchange revenues that must be surrendered to the budget and introduced a EUR 45/ton export duty on potash fertilizers and a duty on crude oil export. The government also resolved to withdraw profits of some of the better-off companies, especially Belaruskali. In 2015, the company will have to transfer more than 75% of its profit to the state budget; furthermore, the government limited Belaruskali’s investment and upgrade costs.

It should also be noted that the current situation in Belarus largely depends on external factors, which Belarus cannot influence on its own (such as the expansion of the Russian economy, devaluation of the Russian ruble, economic sanctions against Russia by the European Union and the United States, conflict in the east of Ukraine, fall in oil prices, etc.).

Conclusion

Belarus has entered a difficult economic phase, which will be characterized by some of the features of the economic crises of 1998 and the early 1990s (following the disintegration of the USSR) and new specific features associated with the record-high external debt of Belarusian residents. During the previous periods affected by recession, Belarusian residents had no such serious external debt liabilities. The risk of foreign capital flight increases, and so does the risk of withdrawal of FDI.

Should the situation in Russia and Ukraine further deteriorate, some Belarusian residents may delay payments of their foreign liabilities. At the same time, the government will be making efforts to meet all of its obligations associated with the payment and service of foreign debts.

According to our forecasts, Belarus’s GDP will decrease by 5% year-on-year in 2015 in comparable prices, whereas inflation will go up by 22–27% (based on the December – to previous December methodology), with the adjusted official forecast remaining between 16% and 20%. Also in 2015, unemployment and underemployment will likely increase, while real wages will continue decreasing (given the current inflation rate). Furthermore, the average wage will also drop in the U.S. dollar equivalent. For its part, the reduction in real incomes will bring about a curtailment of consumer demand and affect credit-related activities by households.

Finally, amid the sharp devaluation of the Belarusian ruble, the debt burden on the country will increase because of the need to repay and service the total external debt and internal liabilities in foreign exchange. As a result, commercial banks may see the share of distressed assets increase in 2015 and require additional funds to create special reserves in order to cover potential bad debts, which may produce a negative impact on performance and profitability indicators.

Валютный рынок: под прессингом внешних факторов

Александр Муха

Резюме

В 2014 году на фоне усиления геополитических рисков и экономических санкций Евросоюза и США в отношении России произошло резкое падение обменного курса российского рубля вкупе с существенным замедлением темпов роста российской экономики. В результате поставки ряда белорусских товаров и услуг в Россию стали невыгодными по цене, что потребовало принятия ряда неотложных мер со стороны правительства и Национального банка Республики Беларусь. Произошла резкая девальвация белорусского рубля с целью поддержки ценовой конкурентоспособности белорусских экспортёров и удорожания импорта. Одновременно усиление административного ценового контроля со стороны государства позволило ограничить импорт товаров и спрос на иностранную валюту.

В 2015 году власти будут использовать тактику внутренней девальвации, предполагающую снижение внутреннего спроса, реальной зарплаты работников и реального ВВП с тем, чтобы ограничить размер внешней девальвации белорусского рубля по отношению к основным иностранным валютам.

Тенденции:
Валютный рынок

В 2014 году резко возросла геополитическая напряжённость в регионе в связи с украинским кризисом. В ответ на действия России в Крыму и на юго-востоке Украины, Европейский Союз, США, Канада, Австралия, Новая Зеландия, Япония, Швейцария, Норвегия и другие государства ввели экономические санкции против ведущих российских банков, нефтегазовых компаний и предприятий оборонного сектора. В результате, на фоне введённых санкций резко усилился отток иностранного капитала из России, в первую очередь в части сокращения внешних долговых обязательств российских резидентов.

Причём санкции оказали серьёзное негативное влияние не только на «подсанкционные» банки и компании, но и на остальные российские предприятия и финансовые институты, которые испытали на себе последствия ограничения доступа к международным рынкам капитала и удорожания внешних заимствований. Как следствие, в 2014 году официальный курс российского рубля к доллару США снизился на 71.9% – до RUB 56.26. 1

В этой ситуации для белорусских предприятий возникла реальная угроза потери российского рынка сбыта по ряду товарных групп со всеми вытекающими негативными последствиями (ввиду неконкурентоспособности в ценовом отношении). Одновременно произошло резкое увеличение импорта товаров и услуг из России в Беларусь (в частности легковых автомобилей, бытовой техники, продуктов питания, туристических услуг и др.).

Восемнадцатого декабря 2014 года белорусский президент А. Лукашенко провёл совещание по экономическим вопросам, на котором были приняты меры с целью ограничения импорта и спроса на иностранную валюту, включая введение 30%-го валютного сбора при покупке валюты юридическими и физическими лицами. Введение белорусскими властями дискриминационной валютной практики явилось ответной реакцией на резкую девальвацию российского рубля и замедление темпов роста российской экономики на фоне экономических санкций против России со стороны Евросоюза, США и других государств.

По сути, валютный сбор представлял собой завуалированную девальвацию национальной валюты, но в отличие от классической девальвации белорусские экспортёры в этом случае не получили дополнительных преимуществ в части повышения ценовой конкурентоспособности на внешних рынках. Вскоре после введения валютного сбора была проведена обычная девальвация рубля. С 18 декабря 2014 (совещание у президента) до 23 марта 2015 года официальный курс белорусского рубля к доллару США снизился на 35.9% – до BYR 14 790 за USD 1. При этом с 31 декабря 2013 по 23 марта 2015 года официальный курс белорусского рубля к доллару США снизился на 55.5%, в то время как за этот же период официальный курс российского рубля к доллару США упал на 83.4%. В результате текущий разрыв в динамике девальваций российского рубля и белорусского рубля составил 17.9%. 2

Резкая девальвация белорусского рубля чревата следующими негативными последствиями для экономики и социальной сферы:

  1. ускорение темпов инфляции на потребительском рынке и в производственном секторе, падение уровня жизни населения;
  2. удорожание импортируемых товаров и услуг (включая импортные товары инвестиционного назначения, а также природный газ, нефть и нефтепродукты);
  3. обесценивание рублёвых депозитов (за исключением «бездевальвационных» вкладов) и падение склонности физических и юридических лиц к организованным рублёвым сбережениям в среднесрочной перспективе;
  4. необходимость поддержания высоких процентных ставок по рублёвым депозитам и, как следствие, рублёвым кредитам, что может привести к падению инвестиционной активности и темпов экономического роста в целом;
  5. увеличение долговой нагрузки, связанной с обслуживанием и погашением совокупного внешнего долга и внутренних обязательств в иностранной валюте. В данном случае достаточно указать, что совокупный внешний долг резидентов Беларуси, по состоянию на 1 января 2015 года, составил USD 40.061 млрд, в том числе валовой внешний долг государственного сектора в расширенном определении – USD 23.212 млрд;
  6. снижение инвестиционной привлекательности Беларуси для иностранных инвесторов и усиление оттока иностранного капитала из национальной экономики;
  7. рост социальной напряжённости в обществе и политических рисков в стране.

Кроме того, необходимо осознавать, что сама по себе девальвация демотивирует экспортёров и лишает их стимулов к повышению эффективности своей деятельности. Зачем в таком случае экспортёрам повышать конкурентоспособность и работать над завоеванием новых рынков сбыта, если очередная девальвация перераспределит средства остальных участников экономики (включая население) в их пользу?

В целом, в текущей ситуации резкая девальвация белорусского рубля представляет серьёзную угрозу экономической, финансовой и политической стабильности в стране. В конечном счёте, для поддержания устойчивости внутреннего валютного рынка Беларуси потребуется привлечение новых иностранных ресурсов в течение 2015 года.

Золотовалютные резервы и сальдо текущих внешнеэкономических операций

По данным Нацбанка, в 2014 году золотовалютные резервы (ЗВР) Беларуси в определении Специального стандарта распространения данных (ССРД) МВФ снизились на USD 1.592 млрд (или на 23.9%) – до USD 5.059 млрд, по состоянию на 1 января 2015 года. В свою очередь международные резервные активы Беларуси по национальным стандартам в 2014 году уменьшились на USD 1.521 млрд (на 21.0%) – до USD 5.716 млрд, по состоянию на 1 января текущего года.

В определении ССРД МВФ, ЗВР на 47.9% сформированы за счёт привлечённой иностранной валюты банков. Так, валютные обязательства Нацбанка Беларуси перед банковским сектором составили USD 2.423 млрд, по состоянию на 1 января 2015 года. Низкий уровень ЗВР существенно ограничивает возможности центрального банка по поддержанию обменного курса белорусского рубля в рамках валютных интервенций.

В настоящее время ЗВР предназначены в первую очередь для погашения и обслуживания внутренних и внешних долговых обязательств государства (правительства и Национального банка) в иностранной валюте. В результате, в текущей ситуации центральный банк использует гибкий режим курсообразования, предполагающий более высокий уровень волатильности обменного курса белорусского рубля по отношению к основным иностранным валютам (включая доллар США).

Как показывает анализ, в 2014 году основной вклад в сокращение ЗВР пришёлся на выплаты по ранее привлечённым внешним заимствованиям государства и увеличение чистого спроса на валюту со стороны населения и субъектов хозяйствования на фоне резкой девальвации российского рубля. Так, в декабре 2014 году население купило на чистой основе с учётом безналичных операций рекордные USD 901.6 млн против чистой покупки валюты в размере USD 324.8 млн в ноябре и 93.7 млн в октябре того же года.

Для сравнения: в июле 2013 года население купило на чистой основе с учётом безналичных операций USD 621.5 млн, в марте 2011 года – 768.1 млн, в декабре 2008 года – USD 783.2 млн. При этом структура чистого спроса населения на иностранную валюту в декабре 2014 года выглядела следующим образом: чистая покупка наличной валюты – USD 328.1 млн; конвертация рублёвых вкладов в валютные депозиты на чистой основе – USD 573.5 млн.

По данным Нацбанка, в январе 2015 года валютные поступления от экспорта товаров и услуг, доходов и трансфертов нефинансовых предприятий и домашних хозяйств сократились по сравнению с аналогичным периодом предыдущего года сразу на USD 638.5 млн (или на 20%) – до USD 2.547 млрд (табл. 1), что является минимальным показателем с января 2011 года.

Период Поступления Выплаты Сальдо Сальдо с учётом
нефтяных трансфертов
Январь 2012 3720.5 3255.4 465.1 128.5
Февраль 4042.1 3646.7 395.5 71.4
Март 4683.0 4324.8 358.2 –90.0
Апрель 4716.0 4438.2 277.8 –85.9
Май 5061.8 4447.1 614.6 245.8
Июнь 4753.7 4089.3 664.4 287.1
Июль 4284.1 3623.8 660.4 469.2
Август 4413.3 4210.0 203.3 –49.0
Сентябрь 3614.1 3852.4 –238.3 –505.2
Октябрь 3809.5 3790.5 19.0 –242.8
Ноябрь 3581.7 3578.5 3.2 –303.4
Декабрь 3956.5 4161.2 –204.7 –554.0
Январь 2013 3547.8 3514.1 33.6 –308.8
Февраль 3510.0 3560.7 –50.7 –372.6
Март 3902.2 3479.5 422.7 7.9
Апрель 3826.3 3607.7 218.6 –83.1
Май 3629.6 3800.8 –171.2 –457.4
Июнь 3609.7 3586.9 22.8 –223.2
Июль 3999.6 3849.0 150.6 –150.5
Август 3661.4 3795.3 –133.9 –396.2
Сентябрь 3256.7 3496.1 –239.4 –423.3
Октябрь 3673.0 3582.2 90.8 –134.4
Ноябрь 3214.6 3262.3 –47.7 –202.9
Декабрь 4204.6 4074.7 129.9 –143.3
Январь 2014 3185.2 3167.9 17.3 –289.3
Февраль 3318.9 3294.1 24.8 –271.7
Март 3739.8 3320.5 419.3 116.6
Апрель 3532.7 3500.5 32.2 –278.9
Май 3943.8 3594.5 349.3 58.7
Июнь 3858.0 3451.4 406.6 145.2
Июль 4078.5 3663.9 414.6 144.4
Август 3630.8 3252.3 378.5 183.0
Сентябрь 3543.8 3513.5 30.3 –152.9
Октябрь 3830.4 3336.4 494.0 273.7
Ноябрь 3072.0 2992.0 80.0 –105.8
Декабрь 3358.5 3687.9 –329.5 –465.4
Январь 2015 2546.7 2157.4 389.3
Таблица 1. Сведения о платежах по экспорту и импорту товаров и услуг, доходам и трансфертам в январе 2012 – январе 2015 года, USD млн.

Источник: Национальный банк Республики Беларусь.

Резкое снижение валютных поступлений в январе текущего года произошло по следующим причинам: (1) в условиях высокой нормы обязательной продажи валютной выручки (50%) и повышенных девальвационных ожиданий предприятия придержали валютную выручку за рубежом; (2) снизились объёмы экспорта белорусских товаров и услуг в Россию ввиду падения спроса со стороны российских покупателей и невыгодности поставок продукции на российский рынок в связи с резкой девальвацией российского рубля на международном валютном рынке.

В свою очередь, в январе 2015 года валютные выплаты по импорту товаров и услуг, доходам и трансфертам нефинансовых предприятий и домашних хозяйств сократились по сравнению с аналогичным периодом предыдущего года сразу на USD 1.011 млрд (или на 31.9%) – до USD 2.157 млрд, что является минимальным показателем с февраля 2010 года (см. табл. 1). Такое резкое падение валютных выплат произошло по следующим причинам: (1) приостановка деятельности отдельных импортёров в связи с ужесточением административного ценового контроля; (2) снижение объёмов импорта товаров и услуг ввиду их удорожания на фоне девальвации белорусского рубля; (3) падение реальных денежных доходов населения.

В целом, в январе 2015 года сальдо текущих внешнеэкономических операций, связанных с движением товаров, услуг, доходов и трансфертов, сложилось положительным в размере плюс USD 389,3 млн против минус 465.4 млн в декабре и минус 289.3 млн в январе 2014 года. Наряду с существенным снижением валютных выплат положительное влияние на сальдо текущих внешнеэкономических операций оказало зачисление вывозных таможенных пошлин на нефтепродукты в белорусский бюджет (начиная с января 2015 года).

В феврале 2015 года население, предприятия и нерезиденты стали чистыми продавцами иностранной валюты. Однако ожидаемая постепенная отмена ценового контроля (включая отмену постановления правительства Беларуси № 1207 от 19 декабря 2014 года) приведёт к увеличению импорта товаров и, соответственно, спроса на иностранную валюту со стороны субъектов хозяйствования. С другой стороны, в 2015 году власти будут использовать тактику т. н. внутренней (снижение внутреннего спроса, реальных зарплат и реального ВВП), а не внешней девальвации (снижение обменного курса белорусского рубля по отношению к иностранным валютам).

Одновременно власти принимают меры по увеличению предложения валюты и пополнению ЗВР, связанные с повышением нормы обязательной продажи валютной выручки, введением пошлины на экспорт калийных удобрений (45 евро/т) и сбора на экспорт сырой нефти. Принято также решение по изъятию прибыли высокорентабельных предприятий, в первую очередь «Беларуськалия». Причём в 2015 году у «Беларуськалия» будет изыматься более 3/4 прибыли, одновременно правительство ограничило расходы «Беларуськалия», связанные с инвестициями и модернизацией.

Вместе с тем необходимо осознавать, что текущая ситуация в Беларуси во многом зависит от внешних факторов, на которые белорусская сторона повлиять не может (темпы роста российской экономики, девальвация российского рубля, экономические санкции Евросоюза и США против России, конфликт на востоке Украины, падение цен на нефть).

Заключение

В настоящее время Беларусь входит в сложную экономическую фазу, для которой будут характерны как признаки экономических кризисов 1998 и начала 1990-х годов (после распада СССР), так и специфические особенности, связанные с рекордной величиной накопленного внешнего долга резидентов Беларуси. В предыдущие экономические кризисы у резидентов Беларуси отсутствовали столь существенные внешние долговые обязательства. При этом обостряется риск оттока иностранного капитала и доходов по линии прямых иностранных инвестиций.

В случае ухудшения ситуации в России и Украине отдельные резиденты Беларуси могут столкнуться с задержками платежей по внешнему долгу. В то же время правительство будет стараться до последнего обслуживать и погашать свои внешние долговые обязательства.

По нашим прогнозам, в 2015 году ВВП Беларуси сократится на 5% в сопоставимых ценах, тогда как инфляция на потребительском рынке вырастет до 22–27% (по методике «декабрь к декабрю предыдущего года») при пересмотренном официальном прогнозе 16–20%. Одновременно в 2015 году можно ожидать увеличения количества безработных и работников с вынужденной неполной занятостью на фоне снижения реальных зарплат белорусов (то есть с учётом складывающихся темпов инфляции) и уменьшения долларового эквивалента средней зарплаты в стране. В свою очередь сокращение реальных денежных доходов населения приведёт к снижению потребительского спроса и кредитной активности физических лиц.

Наконец, на фоне резкой девальвации белорусского рубля увеличится долговая нагрузка, связанная с погашением и обслуживанием совокупного внешнего долга и внутренних обязательств в иностранной валюте. Как следствие, в 2015 году может увеличиться доля проблемных активов в банковском секторе. В результате банкам потребуются средства на создание дополнительных спецрезервов в связи с возможными потерями по ссудам, что негативно скажется на показателях прибыли и рентабельности белорусских банков.