Belarus – Russia: Towards a revision of the alliance

Anatoly Pankovski

Summary

In 2016, Belarusian-Russian bilateral relations were, in many respects, determined by the mutual disagreement on the value of each other’s services. Both countries were disappointed with the results of the partnership, as they obviously expected greater benefits from the membership in multilateral organizations, such as the Eurasian Economic Union and Collective Security Treaty Organization. Relations have undergone revision in almost all areas: politics, trade, energy, culture, and defense.

The tension was growing throughout the year. It was not relieved in any of the areas by the end of 2016. Disagreements, conflicts and disputes, nevertheless, did not lead to a full-scale crisis: both sides exercised caution, and did not risk the very basis of the partnership, as they were well aware of the limits of the pressure they can exert on each other. Belarus and Russia will apparently have to decrease the expectations from their cooperation.

Trends:
General overview

Russia’s accession to the WTO and the launch of the Eurasian Economic Union led to a reduction in the benefits from the Belarus-Russia alliance: Belarus experiences heavy competition on the Russian market and the effectiveness of domestic market protection measures taken in relation to Russian and third countries’ commodities has declined. Sanctions against Russia have resulted in a decrease in Russia’s paying capacity that affects Belarusian exports to Russia.

The fall of world prices of oil over the past few years also had a negative impact on the benefits of Belarusian-Russian cooperation in this area, since the oil price preferences for Belarus have significantly decreased in comparison with other Eastern European countries. In this situation, each side attempted to adjust or revise existing agreements in its favor that led to a whole bunch of conflicts and disputes, which were not generally resolved by the end of the year.

The information component of this conflict, the dramatic intensity of which is very indicative, should be particularly emphasized. In 2015, Ukraine was in the focus of Russian propaganda. In 2016, Belarus was becoming a target of sharply intensified information attacks. The Belarusian leadership finally had to attend to information security issues. Among other things, this was manifested in the arrest of three contributors to the Russian news agency Regnum. Despite the informational aggression of the Russian media and the painful reaction of the Belarusian authorities, relations between officials, including the presidents, prime and foreign ministers, remained composed and quite ‘allied’ in this respect.

Almost the same (with certain reservations) can be said about the foreign policy coordination between Russia and Belarus. The reservations are related to the ambiguous position of Minsk on the Russian-Ukrainian conflict and the Crimean question, Lukashenko’s ‘initiatives’ on the involvement of the United States in the peacemaking process and Minsk’s attempts to strengthen its independence through intensified dialogue with the West and stepped up contacts with developing countries.

In general, Belarus showed caution, as its actions fit perfectly into the corridor of the Kremlin’s basic preferences. At the July session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, Belarus did not vote for the resolution, which condemned the occupation of the Crimea by Russia, and, when voting at the UN General Assembly in December, Belarus was among the countries blocking a draft resolution on the Crimea, in which Russia was recognized as an occupying country.

Reduction in oil and gas rent: a long-lasting dispute and logistics factor

The oil and gas conflict, which broke out in 2016, was the longest one in the history of Russian-Belarusian relations. 1 Since late 2015, Belarus had been unsuccessfully trying to change the price parameters set by the 2014 contract on Russian gas supplies 2 and, in early 2016, independently switched to a price it thought to be fair. In fact, the contract provides for this possibility in case the principle of ‘equal profitability’ does not work in the EEU (the ultimate price is calculated according to the old formula, but it is not supposed to be over the ‘equally profitable’ one). Minsk independently determined the price ceiling of ‘equal profitability’ and was paying for gas the whole year being guided by these considerations.

Russia predictably voiced objections, and the parties were trying to come to a compromise the entire year, but failed to agree. For the first time, Russia used oil supplies as leverage in the dispute over the gas price. It cut oil supplies to Belarus by more than 5 million metric tons since the second half of the year. 3 In 2016, supplies were reduced 20.8% (18.1 million metric tons against 22.8 million in 2015) in total that heavily affected a number of Belarusian economy indicators, including export revenues and GDP.

As a matter of fact, the gas dispute was more of an excuse than the main reason for the oil supplies cuts. Russian Transneft sought to ensure incomes from the operation of Baltic Pipeline System-2 (BPS-2), the new infrastructure of the Ust-Luga port, i. e. to redirect a considerable part of oil from the Belarusian to the Baltic corridor (like it was done with BPS-1). 4 Besides, this redirection leaves duties on oil and oil products to Russia instead of Belarus. Most likely, if Belarus did not give a reason by underpaying for gas, the Russians would find another justification to reduce oil supplies to Belarus (although, perhaps, not in such a significant amount).

In the final reckoning, the underlying cause of the oil and gas conflict in 2016 (like all previous and probable future ones) is that Russia made one more step towards a bypassing logistics infrastructure, which makes it possible to be less dependent on transit countries, while the Belarusian leadership turned out to be unprepared to put up with the declining transit importance of the country and, consequently, to accept the drop in the price of Belarus’ transit services and, ultimately, a reduction in the oil and gas rent. Since both parties see the relative importance of their services and commitments differently, the oil and gas sector is likely to remain a potential zone of conflict in the foreseeable future.

Military and trade infrastructure

In 2016, the oil and gas collision was not the only cloud in the blue sky of the alliance. The bargaining over the placement of a Russian air force base in Belarus, which started in 2015, 5 continued to gain momentum, but with a zero result. Belarus’ attempts to achieve supplies of new Russian weapons brought the same result. Russia came to the conclusion that it should reinforce the military infrastructure on its own territory near the Belarusian and Ukrainian borders and proceeded with the construction of a military base in Klintsy thus distancing itself from its major ally in the defense sector.

This trend extended to the trade infrastructure: in 2016, Russia continued to build elements of a trade border with Belarus, mainly because Belarus did not support Russia’s food anti-sanctions in retaliation to the sanctions against Russia. It should be noted that in recent years, Russia has been engaged in the arrangement of its borders with the surrounding countries with varying intensity, yet quite consistently. Belarus was no exception, although the special nature of the allied relations has been emphasized all the time.

The mutual trade turnover with the Russian Federation slightly decreased (94.8% against 2015) mainly due to a decrease in imports from Russia, reduced oil supplies making up a large proportion in trade. Belarus’ exports slightly increased (104.0% against 2015), which had a positive effect on the trade deficit, which decreased significantly in comparison with 2015 to USD 4,476 billion in absolute terms and reached about the same amount as in 2004, when the total turnover did not exceed USD 16 billion.

Index 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 % against 2015
Trade turnover 28,035 39,439 43,860 39,742 37,371 27,533 26,114 94.8
Exports 9,954 14,509 16,309 16,837 15,181 10,389 10,819 104.1
Imports 18,081 24,930 27,551 22,905 22,190 17,144 15,295 89.2
Deficit 8,127 10,421 11,242 6,068 7,009 6,755 4,476 150.9
Table 1. Dynamics of foreign trade between the Republic of Belarus and the Russian Federation in 2009–2015, USD million 6

As seen in the table above, this is by no means the worst indicator of the bilateral trade turnover between Belarus and Russia, given that in 2015, its overall decline against 2014 was at 26.3% (USD 27,533 billion with a 6,755 billion deficit). It is, however, premature to speak about a revival of trade and economic relations in 2016.

The thing is that Russia and Belarus do not benefit from the membership in the Eurasian Economic Union: most tariff restrictions still stand and Russian departmental lobbies are busy initiating new ones. Belarus experiences real difficulties when trying to advocate the interests of its producers in the Eurasian Economic Union. Attempts to involve EEU executive bodies in disputes with Russian departments have not yielded significant results.

Conclusion

Since the mutual dependence of Russia and Belarus is a dynamic value, which will decrease in the future, any compromise on any issue, including those in the trade, military, political, oil and gas sectors will be temporary. On the other hand, the unpreparedness of the Russian and Belarusian governments to carry out reforms and their deep-seated belief that socio-economic problems will be resolved automatically basically predetermine the preservation of the status quo, which can be defined as a ‘mercantilist alliance.’

Due to the ‘mercantilist’ keynote in Russian-Belarusian relations, the Eurasian Economic Union will remain a weak alliance with a huge number of restrictions in the foreseeable future. Trade volumes will directly depend on oil prices and, accordingly, the stability of the Russian ruble, rather than institutional shifts.

Belarus will seek to maintain certain foreign policy independence, but the possibility of new repressions against opponents of the regime sets some limitations in this regard.

Беларусь – Россия: к ревизии союзничества

Анатолий Паньковский

Резюме

В 2016 году тон в двусторонних отношениях задавался взаимным несогласием партнёров с ценностью услуг, предоставляемых контрагентом. Обе стороны оказались разочарованы результатами двустороннего партнёрства, явно ожидая от него больших выгод, в том числе в рамках многосторонних организаций – ЕАЭС, ОДКБ. Отношения подверглись ревизии практически по всему спектру направлений взаимодействия – политическому, торговому, энергетическому, культурному, военному.

Напряжение в отношениях нарастало весь год и к концу года не разрешилось ни по одному из направлений. Разногласия, конфликты и споры тем не менее не вылились в полноценный кризис: обе стороны соблюдали опредёленную осторожность, не ставя под удар саму основу партнёрства и осознавая пределы своих возможностей давления на партнёра. В дальнейшем Беларуси и России, по-видимому, придётся снизить взаимные ожидания от сотрудничества.

Тенденции:
Общий обзор

Вступление России в ВТО и запуск ЕАЭС привели к снижению выгод союзничества Беларуси и России: конкуренция на российском рынке для белорусских товаров выросла, при этом эффективность механизмов защиты внутреннего рынка Беларуси от российских товаров и товаров из третьих стран снизилась. Санкции против России, сократив платежеспособность российского рынка, оказали дополнительное негативное влияние на белорусский экспорт в Россию.

Низкие мировые цены на нефть на протяжении последних нескольких лет также негативно сказались на выгодах белорусско-российского сотрудничества в этой сфере, поскольку ценовые преимущества Беларуси в сравнении с другими странами восточно-европейского региона существенно сократились. В сложившейся ситуации каждая сторона предприняла попытки скорректировать или пересмотреть имеющиеся договоренности в свою пользу, что привело к целой группе конфликтов и споров, компромиссные решения по которым, как правило, не были приняты до конца года.

Отдельно следовало бы выделить информационную составляющую этого конфликтного фона, драматический накал которой показателен сам по себе. Если в 2015 году основной целью российской пропаганды выступала Украина, то в 2016 году информационным атакам всё в большей степени начала подвергаться Беларусь. В конечном итоге белорусское руководство вынуждено было озаботиться вопросами информационной безопасности, что проявилось также и в конкретных действиях – задержании и аресте трёх журналистов, писавших для российского ресурса ИА Regnum. Несмотря на информационную агрессию российских СМИ и болезненную реакцию белорусской стороны, сами взаимоотношения официальных лиц, включая президентов, премьеров, министров иностранных дел и т.д., оставались сдержанными и в этом отношении вполне «союзническими».

Приблизительно то же самое – с определёнными оговорками – можно сказать о внешнеполитической координации России и Беларуси. Оговорки касаются двусмысленной позиции Минска по российско-украинскому конфликту и факту принадлежности Крыма, «инициатив» А.Лукашенко по вовлечению в миротворческий процесс США и попыток Минска укрепить свою самостоятельность за счёт активизации диалога с Западом и интенсификации контактов с развивающимися странами.

В целом же белорусская сторона демонстрировала осторожность, её действия вполне укладывались в коридор базовых предпочтений Кремля. В июле на сессии ПА ОБСЕ Беларусь не проголосовала за резолюцию, осуждающую оккупацию Крыма Россией, а в декабре в Генассамблее ООН она оказалась в числе стран, блокировавших проект резолюции по Крыму, в котором Россия признавалась страной-оккупантом.

Снижение нефтегазовой ренты: «длинный» конфликт и фактор логистики

В 2016 году разгорелся нефтегазовый конфликт – наиболее длительный за всю историю российско-белорусских отношений. 1 Начиная с конца 2015 года белорусская сторона безуспешно пыталась пересмотреть ценовые параметры заключённого в 2014 году контракта на поставки российского газа в Беларусь, 2 а с начала 2016 года перешла на самостоятельное ценообразование. Специально отметим, что контракт такую возможность предусматривает в том случае, если в ЕАЭС так и не заработает принцип «равнодоходности» (конечная цена рассчитывается по старой формуле, но она не должна превышать «равнодоходную»). Минск самостоятельно определил ценовой потолок «равнодоходности» и весь год платил за газ, руководствуясь этими соображениями.

Россия предсказуемо с таким ценообразованием не согласилась, и весь минувший год стороны безуспешно пытались прийти к компромиссу. Россия впервые использовала поставки нефти как рычаг давления в споре вокруг цены на газ, сократив со второй половины года поставки нефти в Беларусь более чем на 5 млн тонн. 3 Общее сокращение поставок нефти в 2016 году составило 20.8% (18.1 млн т против 22.8 млн т в 2015 году) и существенно отразилось на множестве показателей белорусской экономики, включая доходы от экспорта и ВВП.

Между тем разногласия по газу оказались скорее поводом, чем основной причиной сокращения поставок нефти. Оно связано с необходимостью обеспечить доходы российской «Транснефти» от эксплуатации БТС-2, новой инфраструктуры порта Усть-Луга, то есть перенаправить значительную часть поставок нефти с белорусского на балтийский коридор (как это уже происходило в случае заполнения БТС-1). 4 Кроме того, такое перенаправление сохраняет пошлины на нефть и нефтепродукты в российском, а не белорусском бюджете. Скорее всего, если бы белорусская сторона не дала соответствующего повода в виде недоплаты за газ, россияне нашли бы иные обоснования для сокращения поставок нефти в Беларусь (хотя, возможно, и не в столь существенном объёме).

В конечном итоге базовая причина нефтегазового конфликта 2016 года (как всех предыдущих и вероятных последующих) состоит в том, что российская сторона ещё на один шаг продвинулась в формировании своей «обходной» логистической инфраструктуры, позволяющей снизить зависимость от транзитных стран, в то время как белорусское руководство оказалось не готово смириться с факторами, свидетельствующими о снижении транзитного значения своей страны. И, следовательно, смириться со снижением стоимости транзитных услуг Беларуси, а в конечном счёте – с сокращением нефтегазовой ренты. Поскольку обе стороны по-разному оценивают относительную значимость своих услуг и обязательств, нефтегазовая сфера в видимой перспективе будет оставаться потенциально конфликтной.

Военная и торговая инфраструктура

В 2016 году нефтегазовая коллизия оказалась не единственной тучей в синем небе союзничества. Продолжал набирать обороты начавшийся в 2015 году торг 5 вокруг размещения в Беларуси российский авиабазы, который привёл к нулевым результатам. К аналогичным результатам привели попытки белорусской стороны пробить поставки новых российских вооружений. В результате Россия пришла к выводу о необходимости укрепления военной инфраструктуры на собственной территории вблизи белорусской и украинской границ и приступила к обустройству военной базы в Клинцах, закрепив таким образом тенденцию на отдаление от своего ведущего союзника в сфере обороны.

Эта тенденция была расширена на торговую инфраструктуру: в 2016 году Россия продолжила обустройство элементов торговой границы с Беларусью, в основном, ввиду того что Беларусь не поддержала продуктовые «антисанкции» России против стран, подключившихся к режиму санкций против неё. Следует отметить, что последние годы Россия с разной интенсивностью, но вполне последовательно занималась обустройством своих границ с остальными окружающими её странами. И здесь Беларусь, со всеми оговорками по поводу особого характера отношений с Россией, оказывается в общем тренде.

Взаимный товарооборот с Российской Федерацией незначительно снизился (94.8% к 2015 году) – главным образом за счёт снижения российского импорта, в структуре которого значительно сократились поставки нефти. Экспорт белорусских товаров незначительно вырос (104.0% к показателям 2015 года), что в конечном итоге позитивно отразилось на динамике торгового сальдо, которое существенно сократилось в отношении к 2015 году и в абсолютных показателях – минус USD 4.476 млрд – достигло приблизительно таких же показателей, как и в 2004 году, когда общий товарооборот не превышал USD 16 млрд (табл. 1).

Показатель 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 % к 2014
Товарооборот 28 035 39 439 43 860 39 742 37 371 27 533 26 114 94.8
Экспорт 9954 14 509 16 309 16 837 15 181 10 389 10 819 104.1
Импорт 18 081 24 930 27 551 22 905 22 190 17 144 15 295 89.2
Сальдо –8127 –10 421 –11 242 –6068 –7009 –6755 –4476 150.9
Таблица 1. Динамика внешней торговли товарами Республики Беларусь с Российской Федерацией в 2009–2015 гг., USD млн 6

Как видно из таблицы, это далеко не самые худшие показатели двустороннего товарооборота между Беларусью и Россией, если учесть, что в 2015 году его общее падение по отношению к 2014 году составило 26.3% (USD 27.533 млрд при отрицательном торговом сальдо Беларуси USD 6.755 млрд). Вместе с тем говорить об оживлении торгово-экономических отношений по результатам 2016 года преждевременно.

Главным образом необходимо отметить то, что совместное нахождение России и Беларуси в едином торговом союзе (ЕАЭС) не оказало позитивного влияния на взаимные обмены: сохраняется большинство тарифных ограничений в торговле, по настоянию российских отраслевых лобби вводятся новые. Отстаивание интересов белорусских производителей в рамках ЕАЭС по-прежнему идёт с трудом, попытки привлечь исполнительные органы ЕАЭС в спорах с российскими ведомствами значимых результатов не приносят.

Заключение

Поскольку взаимная зависимость России и Беларуси является динамической величиной и в будущем будет снижаться, то любой компромисс по любым конфликтным вопросам, включая торговые, военно-политические и нефтегазовые, будет иметь временный характер. С другой стороны, неготовность руководства стран-союзниц к проведению реформ и убеждённость, что социально-экономические проблемы разрешатся в автоматическом режиме, в общем и целом предопределяют сохранение в отношениях status quo, который можно определить как «меркантилистское союзничество».

В силу «меркантилистской» доминанты в российско-белорусских отношениях, ЕАЭС в видимой перспективе будет оставаться слабым союзом – с огромным перечнем ограничений. Объёмы торговли будут находиться в прямой зависимости от цены нефти и, соответственно, устойчивости российского рубля (а не от институциональных сдвигов).

Беларусь будет стремиться к сохранению некоторой самостоятельности во внешней политике, однако возможность возобновления репрессивных практик против оппонентов режима задаёт определённые ограничения в этом отношении.